What you'll see during supersonic skydive

Associated Press + More

ROSWELL, N.M. (AP) — When Felix Baumgartner makes his 23-mile supersonic skydive over southeastern New Mexico Tuesday morning, more than two dozen high-definition and high-resolution digital cameras will be recording the event. Some views will be streamed live, but with a 20-second delay.

WHAT WILL YOU SEE?

Video and still cameras attached to the capsule will record his jump. Cameras on his pressure suit, a helicopter and ground-based tracking system will capture his descent.

HOW MANY CAMERAS?

Some 30 video and still cameras in total, including five attached to the thighs and chest of his pressure suit.

WILL THE FEED BE LIVE?

Organizers of the Red Bull-sponsored event are promising a live feed through their web site, http://www.redbullstratos.com/ live from all cameras except those on Baumgartner's body. But organizers said there will be a 20-second delay in their broadcast of footage in case of a tragic accident.

WHAT COULD GO WRONG?

The balloon could rip. Problems with his pressure suit could cause a gruesome death.

WHEN DOES IT START?

The live feed is set to begin at 6:30 a.m. MDT/8:30 a.m. EDT.

WHEN IS LAUNCH?

Approximate launch is 6:57 a.m. MDT/8:57 a.m. EDT, weather permitting.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?

The ascent could take up to three hours. He is expected to land between 10-10:30 a.m. MDT/12-12:30 p.m. EDT.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.