Men's 15K mass start biathlon race postponed for another day because of fog at Sochi Olympics

The Associated Press

Gondolas are shrouded in fog as they travel to the Laura Cross-country Ski and biathlon venues during the 2014 Winter Olympics in Krasnaya Polyana, Russia, Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014. (AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky)

Associated Press SHARE

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia (AP) — The men's 15-kilometer mass-start biathlon race at the Olympics has been postponed for another day because of fog and is now set to start on Tuesday at 3:30 p.m. (6:30 a.m. EST, 1130 GMT).

Organizers say a decision on the women's 12.5K mass start, which is scheduled to start at 7 p.m. (10 a.m. EST, 1500 GMT), is expected at 4 p.m.

The men's race initially was delayed by one hour and then postponed Sunday because fog made for poor visibility on the shooting range. It was reset for Monday at 10 a.m. (1 a.m. EST, 0600 GMT).

However, with fog still hanging over the course, organizers delayed the start for at least another 5½ hours before calling it off as conditions failed to improve.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.