The Supreme Court Justices

+ More


Next »

1 of 10

(Paul J. Richards/AFP/Getty Images)

The Supreme Court of the United States convened for the first time on February 2, 1790, under Chief Justice John Jay.

The Court has not always consisted of nine justices, as the Constitution does not set the number of members; that is decided by Congress.

The longest-serving justice in the history of the Court is William O. Douglas, who served 36 years and 209 days.

Learn about the current members of the Court

Next: Antonin Scalia

You Might Also Like