Ford, Egan win literary medals

Associated Press SHARE

By HILLEL ITALIE, Associated Press

NEW YORK (AP) — Richard Ford and Timothy Egan are this year's winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence, presented by the American Library Association for the best works of fiction and nonfiction.

Ford was cited for the novel "Canada," narrated by the teen son of bank robbers. Egan won for "Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher," a biography of photographer Edward Curtis, who compiled an encyclopedic archive of American Indians.

Ford and Egan each will receive $5,000. Finalists each receive $1,500. In fiction, they were Junot Diaz for "This Is How You Lose Her" and Louise Erdrich for "The Round House." In nonfiction, it was David Quammen for "Spillover" and Jill Lepore for "The Mansion of Happiness."

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.