Winners of the MTV Video Music Awards

Associated Press SHARE

By The Associated Press, Associated Press

Here are the winners of Thursday night's 29th annual MTV Video Music Awards in Los Angeles:

— Video of the year: Rihanna featuring Calvin Harris, "We Found Love."

— Best pop video: One Direction, "What Makes You Beautiful."

— Best new artist: One Direction, "What Makes You Beautiful."

— Best female video: Nicki Minaj, "Starships."

— Best male video: Chris Brown, "Turn Up The Music."

— Best hip-hop video: Drake featuring Lil Wayne, "HYFR."

— Best video with a message: Devi Lovato, "Skyscraper."

— Best electronic dance music video: Calvin Harris, "Feel So Close."

— Most share-worthy video: One Direction, "What Makes You Beautiful."

— Best rock video: Coldplay, "Paradise."

— Best direction: M.I.A., "Bad Girls."

— Best art direction: Katy Perry, "Wide Awake."

— Best choreography: Chris Brown, "Turn Up the Music."

— Best editing: Beyonce, "Countdown."

— Best visual effects: Skrillex, "First of the Year (Equinox)."

— Best cinematography: M.I.A., "Bad Girls."



Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.