Oscar Nominees, Then and Now

Lots of past winners are up for awards again this year.

Christoph Waltz, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and Alan Arkin have all won Oscars within the last decade. Two-time winner Robert De Niro and past winner Tommy Lee Jones round out the Best Supporting Actor category.

This year's Academy Award nominees include young (9-year-old Quvenzhané Wallis) and old (86-year-old Emmanuelle Riva), relative newcomers (Jessica Chastain) and seasoned veterans (Sally Field)—and that's just in the female acting categories.

[PHOTOS: 85 Years of Oscar]

Many of this year's nominees have taken home the industry's most coveted prize in years past, including all five Best Supporting Actor hopefuls. We at Press Past thought it would be fun to take a look back at the successes of some of this year's nominees in Oscar ceremonies past.

Daniel Day-Lewis won Best Actor for "My Left Foot" in 1990; he also won in 2008 for "There Will Be Blood."(Douglas C. Pizac/AP; Gabriel Bouys/AFP/Getty Images)

Daniel Day-Lewis is a five-time nominee, two-time winner for Best Actor. He first won for 1989's My Left Foot and took home the Oscar again for 2007's There Will Be Blood. He is considered a shoo-in for his performance as Abraham Lincoln in Steven Spielberg's Lincoln.

Steven Spielberg won two Oscars in 1994 for "Schindler's List"; he also won in 1999 for directing "Saving Private Ryan." (Dan Groshong/AFP/Getty Images; Timothy A. Clary/AFP/Getty Images)

Speaking of Spielberg, this year marks his seventh nomination for Best Director. He has also been nominated eight times for Best Picture as a producer. He won both categories for the 1993 Holocaust drama Schindler's List. He won Best Director again for 1998's WWII epic Saving Private Ryan.

Sally Field won Best Actress for "Norma Rae" in 1980; she also won for "Places in the Heart" in 1985. (AP)

Best Supporting Actress nominee Sally Field is no stranger to the Academy Awards. Before this year's nomination for Lincoln, she won the award twice. She first won for 1979's Norma Rae, in which she played a factory worker who decides to do something about her miserable working conditions. She won again five years later for her role in 1984's Places in the Heart, as a widow trying to keep her farm during the Great Depression. She also gave a very memorable acceptance speech that year ("You like me! You like me!").

Denzel Washington won Best Supporting Actor for "Glory" in 1990; he also won Best Actor for "Training Day" in 2002. (Douglas C. Pizac/AP; Mark J. Terrill/AP)

Denzel Washington is nominated for Best Actor for a fourth time; he last won for his role as a corrupt cop in 2001's Training Day. He was also nominated twice for Best Supporting Actor early in his career, winning for his portrayal of a soldier in an all-black unit during the Civil War in 1989's Glory.

Actor Robert De Niro and actress Sissy Spacek pose with their respective Oscars at the 53rd annual Academy Awards in Los Angeles on March 31, 1981. De Niro won best actor for his performance in "Raging Bull," and Spacek was awarded best actress for "Coal Miner's Daughter." (AP)

Robert De Niro's seventh Academy Award nomination is for his role as a football-crazed father of a bipolar man in Silver Linings Playbook. He previously won Best Supporting Actor for 1974's The Godfather II, in which he played a young Vito Corleone. He last won Best Actor for 1980's Raging Bull, depicting real-life boxer Jake LaMotta.

In this March 23, 1998 photo, Ben Affleck and Matt Damon display their Oscars for Best Original Screenplay for "Good Will Hunting" at the 70th Academy Awards at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. (Reed Saxon/AP)

Ben Affleck's Argo is a front-runner for Best Picture, but was snubbed this year for Best Director. Affleck won an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay for co-writing 1997's Good Will Hunting with childhood pal Matt Damon.

Co-writers Quentin Tarantino and Roger Avary accept the Oscar award for Best Original Screenplay for "Pulp Fiction" at the 67th Annual Academy Awards on March 27, 1995 in Los Angeles. (Don Emmert/AFP/Getty Images)

Quentin Tarantino, up this year for Best Original Screenplay for Django Unchained, previously won in the same category for 1994's Pulp Fiction. He lost Best Original Screenplay for 2010's Inglourious Basterds. He was also nominated for Best Director for the two films.

More News:

  • How U.S. News Covered the Events That Inspired Argo
  • In 1964, U.S. News Dismissed the Beatles as a Fad
  • 'The Wondrous World of 1990': A Look at Past Predictions of the Future