Arizona State Cuts 40 Programs, May Close Two Campuses

On top of furloughs and layoffs, the 67,000-student system will endure even more drastic measures.

By + More

Arizona State president Michael Crow outlined even more drastic measures the university will undertake—which include cutting academic programs and capping enrollment— to respond to $88 million in the most recent state budget cuts, the State Press reports. Two satellite campuses could be closed entirely. Arizona State is already eliminating 550 positions through attrition and layoffs and forcing its employees take unpaid leave for up to 15 days.

Other planned moves:

Four dozen academic programs will be shut down. Most of these program cuts will be concentrated in the flagship Tempe campus. Students currently enrolled in these programs will be able to complete their degree "within a reasonable amount of time that has yet to be determined."

The school will cap enrollment to an unspecified number. Applications will no longer be accepted after March 1, five months earlier than usual.

The AIMS scholarship program, a merit scholarship that covers tuition for incoming freshman, will be suspended.

The West and Polytechnic satellite campuses could potentially be closed in fiscal year 2010.

For now, the program offerings at each college will either be eliminated or severely disrupted and rearranged. A truncated list of the changes, by campus ( full list):


  • The College of Technology and Innovation will become the only college.
  • The School of Applied Arts and Sciences will be disbanded.
  • The nutrition and exercise and wellness programs will become part of the College of Nursing & Healthcare Innovation on the Downtown campus.
  • Arts classes on the campus will be administered by the Herberger Institute of Design and the Arts (Tempe campus), humanities will be administered by the School of Letters and Sciences (Downtown campus) and social science and science programs will be administered by the College of Technology and Innovation.
  • The Morrison School of Management and Agribusiness will merge with and operate as part of the W. P. Carey School of Business.
  • The fire service management program will close.
  • The nursing program will be moved to the Downtown campus.


  • No graduate degree programs will be offered.
  • The New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences will be the only college, and the campus' name will be changed.
  • The nursing program will be moved to the Downtown campus.
  • The College of Teacher Education and Leadership will move Downtown, although undergraduate courses will continue to be taught on the West campus.
  • The School of Social Work will move to the Downtown campus and merge with the program there.


The Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering will reorganize and consolidate its programs, reducing the number of departments from 10 to 6.

The Clinical Laboratory Sciences program will be closed.

The W. P. Carey School's MBA sports business specialization will close.

The following are small sample of programs that have stopped accepting applications and have begun shuttering operations:

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • M.S. Kinesiology
  • Master of Natural Sciences concentrations in natural science, life sciences geology and speech and hearing

Herberger College of the Arts

  • Ph.D. in History and Theory of Art
  • M.A. Music and Music Theory

Mary Lou Fulton College of Education

  • Ed. D. and Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction
  • Professional Studies

College of Technology & Innovation

  • M.S. Tech. Electrical Engineering Technology concentrations including Instrument and Measurement Technology and Microelectronics
  • M.S, Tech Mechanical and Manufacturing Tech concentrations including Aeronautical Engineering Technology, Security Engineering Technology, and Information Management Technology
  • 15 other B.A.S. concentrations including fire service management, digital publishing, software technology applications, and semiconductor technology

Morrison School of Management and Agribusiness

  • B.S. in agribusiness with concentrations in golf and facilities management and professional golf management

New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences

  • Masters of arts in interdisciplinary studies
  • M.A. in communication studies
  • M.A. in social justice and human rights